

## PRESIDENTS OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SECRETARIES OF STATE



2024–2025 Steve Simon Minnesota



2023–2024 Scott Schwab Kansas



2022–2023 Tahesha Way New Jersey



2021–2022 Kyle Ardoin Louisiana



2020–2021 Maggie Toulouse Oliver New Mexico



2019–2020 Paul Pate Iowa



2018–2019 Jim Condos Vermont



2017–2018 Connie Lawson Indiana



2016–2017 Denise Merrill Connecticut



2015–2016 Tom Schedler Louisiana



2015 Elaine Marshall North Carolina



2014–February 2015 Kate Brown Oregon



2013–2014 Tre Hargett Tennessee



2012–2013 Ross Miller Nevada



2011–2012 Beth Chapman Alabama



2011 Mark Ritchie Minnesota



2010–January 2011 Matthew Dunlap Maine



2009–2010 Trey Grayson Kentucky



2008–2009 Pedro A. Cortés Pennsylvania



2007–2008 Todd Rokita Indiana



2006–2007 Deborah Markowitz Vermont



August 2005-2006 Sam Reed Washington



July–August 2005 Donetta Davidson Colorado



2004-2005 Rebecca Vigil-Giron New Mexico



2003–2004 Mary Kiffmeyer Minnesota



2002–2003 Dan Gwadosky Maine



2001–2002 Ron Thornburgh Kansas



2000–2001 Sharon Priest Arkansas



1999–2000 Jim Bennett Alabama



1998–1999 Bill Gardner New Hampshire



1997–1998 Olene Walker Utah



1996–1997 Mike Cooney Montana



1995–1996 Joyce Hazeltine South Dakota



1994–1995 Rufus Edmiston North Carolina



1993–1994 Natalie Meyer Colorado



1992–1993 Gail Shafer New York



1991–1992 Dick Molpus Mississippi



1990–1991 Ralph Munro Washington



1989–1990 Julia Tashjian Connecticut



1988–1989 Jim Edgar Illinois



1987 Jim Waltermire Montana



1986–1987 James H. Douglas Vermont



1985–1986 Jeannette B. Edmondson Oklahoma



1984–1985 Edwin J. Simcox Indiana



1983–1984 Jack H. Brier Kansas



1982–1983 Rose Mofford Arizona



1981–1982 Robert Burns Rhode Island



1980–1981 Gentry Crowell Tennessee



1979–1980 Joan Anderson Growe Minnesota



1978–1979 Alan J. Dixon Illinois



1977–1978 Fred L. Wineland Maryland



1977 Mark White Texas



1976–1977 Allen J. Beermann Nebraska



1975–1976 Elwill M. Shanahan Kansas



1974–1975 Clyde L. Miller Utah



1973–1974 James C. Kirkpatrick Missouri



1972–1973 Byron A. Anderson Colorado



1971–1972 Kelly Bryant Arkansas



1970–1971 John P. Lomenzo New York



1969–1970 August P. LaFrance Rhode Island



1968–1969 Frank Murray Montana



1967–1968 Joseph Donovan Minnesota



1966–1967 Ben Meier North Dakota



1965–1966 Martha Bell Conway Virginia



1964–1965 Joe C. Carr Tennessee



1963–1964 Lamont F. Toronto Utah



1962–1963 Frank Marsh Nebraska



1961–1962 Ted W. Brown Ohio



1960–1961 Melvin D. Synhorst Iowa



1959–1960 O. Frank Thornton South Carolina



1957–1958 Paul R. Shanahan Kansas



1958–1959 John Koontz Nevada



1956–1957 Howard E. Armstrong Vermont



1954–1955 Ben W. Fortson, Jr. Georgia



1955–1956 Heber Ladner Mississippi



1953–1954 Earl T. Newbry Oregon



1952–1953 Wesley Bolin Arizona



1951–1952 C. G. Hall Arkansas



1950–1951 Armand H. Cote Rhode Island



1949–1950 Frank Marsh Nebraska



1948–1949 Frank M. Jordan California



1947–1948 Wade O. Martin, Jr. Louisiana



1946–1947 Robert S. Farrell, Jr. Oregon



1945–1946 Walker Wood Mississippi



1944–1945 Mike Holm Minnesota



1943–1944 Frederic W. Cook Massachusetts



1942–1943 Edward J. Hughes Illinois



1941–1942 Thad Eure North Carolina



1940–1941 E. E. Monson Utah



1938–1939-1940 John B. Wilson Georgia



1937–1938 Dwight H. Brown Missouri



1935–1936 Robert A. Gray Florida



1936–1937 Theodore Dammann Wisconsin



1934–1935 Enoch D. Fuller New Hampshire



1933–1934 Robert Byrne North Dakota



1931–1932–1933 Ernest N. Haston Tennessee



1930–1931 Ernest L. Sprague Rhode Island



1929–1930 W. P. Blackwell South Carolina



1927–1928–1929 Fred E. Lukens Idaho



1926–1927 J. Grant Hinkle Washington



1924–1925–1926 Mike Holm Minnesota



1923–1924 Frederic W. Cook Massachusetts



1920–1921–1922–1923 Louis L. Emmerson Illinois



1917–1918–1919–1920 Albert P. Langtry Massachusetts



1915–1916–1917 Stuart F. Reed West Virginia

Two NASS presidents died in plane crashes while they were serving in that capacity.

In October 1947, Oregon Secretary of State Robert S. Farrell, Jr. was killed in a tragic plane accident, which also took the lives of Governor Earl Snell, a former Secretary of State and Senate President Marshall Cornett, who were also on the plane. At the time, Farrell was the youngest person to ever serve as NASS president.

In the Spring of 1988, Montana Secretary of State James Waltermire was killed in a tragic plane accident while campaigning for governor.

The youngest person to serve as NASS president was Vermont Secretary of State Jim Douglas, who was 35 when elected.

NASS President Allen Beermann in 1977 presented the wooden NASS seal as his gift to the association. The seal has been prominently displayed at the podium at many NASS conferences over the years and can be seen in general conference photos.